July 24, 2024


Radio and TV news

Bob Rivers and more inducted into Radio Hall of Fame

1 min read
The 2023 Radio Hall of Fame inductees include icon Bob Rivers, who started his radio career at 16 and gained fame for his tenure in Seattle and Boston. He famously stayed on air in Baltimore for 11 days until the Orioles' 21-game losing streak ended. Other inductees include John DeBella, Gerry House, Pat St. John, Shadoe Stevens, Nina Totenberg, Deborah Parenti, and Charles Warfield. The induction ceremony will take place on November 2nd in New York City.

The 2023 Radio Hall of Fame Inductees include a Seattle favorite, Bob Rivers. Rivers got his first paying radio job when he was 16. For the next 15 years, he worked as a DJ at stations in the Northeast, including six years in the Boston market, where Twisted Tunes was born. Rivers took his act to Baltimore, gaining attention by staying on the air for 11 days until the Orioles finally ended a 21-game losing streak in 1988. He’s stayed on the radio in Seattle since 1989, with 95.7 KJR-FM, KISW and KZOK. Bob Rivers retired July 2014.
The 2023 Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony happens on Thursday, November 2nd at the InterContinental New York Barclay Hotel in New York City.

The inductees are:

John DeBella
WMGK-FM, Philadelphia

Gerry House
WSIX-FM, Nashville

Pat St. John
60s Gold, SiriusXM

Bob Rivers
The Bob Rivers Show

Shadoe Stevens
American Top 40, KMET-FM, KROQ-FM, KHJ-AM

Nina Totenberg
National Public Radio

Deborah Parenti
Publisher, Radio Ink

Charles Warfield

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.