July 24, 2024


Radio and TV news

Broadcast Dialogue Canadian Radio Awards 2023 winners

4 min read
Broadcast Dialogue has unveiled its 2023 Canadian Radio Awards winners. By radio group, this year’s wins are led by Rogers Sports & Media which captured 12 awards

Broadcast Dialogue has unveiled its 2023 Canadian Radio Awards winners.

By radio group, this year’s wins are led by Rogers Sports & Media which captured 12  awards, including Program Director of the Year honours for Christian Hall (Major Market) and Jacquie Beckett (Medium Market); Music Director of the Year wins for Katie Stanners (Large Market) and Wendy Boomer (Medium Market); and talent awards for SONiC Edmonton’s Lauren Hunter, CHYM 96.7 Kitchener’s Adele NewtonCHEZ Ottawa’s The Biggs & Barr Show, KiSS Radio’s The Roz & Mocha Show,and K-ROCK Kingston’s Brock & Dalby.

Harvard Media won four awards, including Best On-Air Team (Major Market) for play107 Edmonton morning show team, Ryder and Lisa. Corus Radio also claimed four awards, including both the Major and Medium MarketEngineering categories.

Bell Media won four awards, including Major Market Station of the Year, which went to 94.5 Virgin Radio in Vancouver, and Best Podcast (Major Market) for The Jann Arden Podcast, while Pattison Media also recorded four wins. Vista Radio claimed three, as did Stingray, including Best Podcast (Medium Market) for The Hot Tub Podcast.

Evanov captured two awards including Medium Market Station of the Year for Energy 106 Winnipeg and Best Station Promotion (Major Market) for the Z103.5 ZCARES Food Drive. 

By program, The Pro Bono Group’s national Canadian Food Bank PSAs initiative claimed three awards, while the syndicated At The Crossroads from ATC Blues Radio picked up two wins.

Head to CanadianRadioAwards.com to listen to this year’s winning audio and learn more about the runners-up in each category.

Station of the Year – presented by NLogic

Major – 94.5 Virgin Radio (CFBT-FM), Bell Media, Vancouver

Medium – Energy 106 (CHWE-FM), Evanov Communications. Winnipeg

Small – 103.5 Capital FM (CKGC-FM), Northern Lights Entertainment, Iqaluit

Program Director of the Year – presented by David Kaye

Major – Christian HallSONiC (CKKS-FM)/JACK FM(CJAX-FM), Roger Sports & Media, Vancouver

Medium – Jacquie BeckettK-Rock (CIKR-FM)/Country 93.5 (CKXC-FM), Rogers Sports & Media, Kingston

Small – Chris WalkerMoose FM (CKFU-FM), Fort St. John

Music Director of the Year – presented by MusicMaster

Major – Katie StannersKiSS 91.7 (CHBN-FM), Rogers Sports & Media, Edmonton

Medium – Wendy Boomer, National Music Director, Country Network, Rogers Sports & Media 

Small – Danny IsmondGX94 (CJGX-AM), Harvard Media, Yorkton

Best On-Air Solo Host (Music)

Major – Lauren “Hunter” DaughertySONiC 102.9(CHDI-FM), Rogers Sports & Media, Edmonton

Medium – Adele NewtonCHYM 96.7Rogers Sports & Media, Kitchener

Small – Vanessa MurphyBounce 91.9 (CKLY-FM), Bell Media, Lindsay/Kawartha Lakes

Best On-Air Team or Host (Music)

Major – Ryder and Lisaplay107 (CKPW-FM), Harvard Media, Edmonton

Medium – The Biggs & Barr Show106.1 CHEZRogers Sports & Media, Ottawa

Small – Mornings with Crash & Sarah BettsMOVE 106.9 (CIBX-FM), Bell Media, Fredericton

Best On-Air Team or Host (News/Talk/Sports) – presented by HD Radio

Major – Mornings with Simi, 980 CKNW, Corus Radio, Vancouver

Medium – The Start, 680 CJOB, Corus Radio, Winnipeg

Small – Arnie Jackson, JSA Sports Network, Real Country 910 (CKDQ-AM), Stingray Drumheller

Best Canadian Multi-Market Network Program – presented by Momentum Media Networks

Major – The Roz and Mocha Show, KiSS Radio Network, Rogers Sports & Media

Medium – The Brock and Dalby Show, Rogers Sports & Media 

Small – At The Crossroads, ATC Blues Radio 

Best Anchor or Reporter

Major – Richard SouthernCityNews 680, Rogers Sports & Media, Toronto

Small – Tara Clow91.9 CKNI, Acadia Broadcasting Corporation, Moncton

Best Podcast – presented by Hippynet

Major – The Jann Arden Podcast, Orbyt Media 

Medium – The Hot Tub Podcast, Stingray 

Small – River Reads, Smithers Community Radio Society 

Best On-Air Promotion – presented by vcreative

Major – ZCARES Food Drive, Z103.5 (CIDC-FM), Evanov Communications, Orangeville

Medium – Robin & PJ’s Singles Night, Country 106.7(CIKZ-FM), Rogers Sports & Media, Kitchener

Small – Junior Announcer Contest, 92.1 ROCK (CJQQ-FM)/KiSS 99.3 (CKGB-FM), Rogers Sports & Media, Timmins

Best Commercial

Major – Canadian Food Bank PSAs, The Pro Bono Group, National

Medium – The Sodfather, 94.3 NOW!radio (CHNW-FM), Pattison Media, Winnipeg

Small – Chillys Heating & CoolingCJGX, Harvard Media, Yorkton

Best Performance in a Commercial

Major – Ron JamesCanadian Red Cross Maritimes Relief,The Pro Bono Group 

Medium – Jim Van DusenHeebie Jeebies, QX104(CFQX-FM), Pattison Media, Winnipeg

Small – Scott Armstrong, Michelle SomervilleThe Hungry Wolf, True North FM (CJCD-FM), Vista Radio, Yellowknife

Best Imaging Voice

Major – Sammi Morelli, [CKFM, CIBK, CFMG, CJCH, CHSU, CFCA, CIQM, CJFM, CFBT, CHBE, CIDR, CKMM], Vancouver

Medium – David Kaye104.9 The Wolf (CFWF-FM), Harvard Media, Regina

Small – Rosemary TraceAt The Crossroads, ATC Blues Radio, National

Best Imaging Production – presented by Benztown

Major – Celebrating 50 Years of Hip Hop, VIBE 105(CHRY-FM), Toronto

Medium – Dylan vs The World, The Zone @ 91-3 (CJZN-FM), Pattison Media, Victoria

Small – 89.7 Sun FM (CJSU-FM), Vista Radio, Duncan

Best Community Service Initiative

Major – Canadian Food Banks, The Pro Bono Group, National

Medium – The Okanagan Comes Together, New Country 100.7 (CIGV-FM)/K96.3 (CKKO-FM), Stingray, Kelowna

Small – Recover Together/True North FM NWT Wildfire Relief Fund, 100.1 True North FM (CJCD-FM), Vista Radio, Yellowknife

Best Community or Campus Station – presented by the Community Radio Fund of Canada

Major- VIBE 105 (CHRY-FM), Toronto

Small – BayFM 100.1 (CKVB-FM), Corner Brook, NL

Best Achievement in Engineering – presented by Momentum Media Marketing

Major – Corus Radio Vancouver, CKNW, CFMI, CFOX, CKGO 

Medium – Corus Radio London, CFPL, CFHK, CKDK, Engineering Team of Steve Sproule and David Bachner 

Small – Cat Country 98 (CIAT-FM), Assiniboia, SK, Huber Radio 

Sound of Success Award – presented by Validate

Major – The Pro Bono GroupCanadian Food Bank PSAs

Small – Pattison Media Prince George, CKKN, CKDV, CKPG-TV, Trench Brewing & Distillery

See whole article here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.